獅頭紮作

舞獅是一種東亞民間的傳統表演藝術,於香港、台灣、馬來西亞等皆能見其蹤影,各地的獅頭亦有不同特色。由於「獅」、「龍」、「麒麟」均被視為祥瑞靈物,有驅邪降福的能力,因此在喜慶節日,如農曆新年、太平清醮等會舞獅助慶,求吉納福。


傳統的獅頭主要分為「劉關張」三款,「張飛」獅主要是黑色,「關羽」獅則是紅色,而「劉備」獅則用黃彩色。舞這三款獅的時候,亦應配合該人物的性格,如舞「張飛」獅時,應展現好勇鬥狠的氣勢等。隨著時代變遷,現代獅頭的設計其實沒什麼規限,可以自由發揮,例如採用牛仔布等較現代的材料,或在獅頭上加上閃石等裝飾,可以為傳統的藝術品帶來新鮮感。


香港出品的獅頭曾經是世界第一,造工精緻,每一個細節亦非常認真。其他地方的獅頭因為文化甚至舞獅方法上的差異,所以出品的獅頭亦會與別不同。台灣獅不像香港的要紮架,而是倒模製成的,而馬來西亞獅則與傳統非常不同,較為可愛得意,特別吸引小朋友。

獅頭紮作步驟

一隻好的獅頭應是非常堅固耐用,例如竹架所用的竹篾會要用刀刨至光滑,減低竹篾刺穿獅頭的機會。

 

形態方面,獅頭的比例需要正確,才能展現威武的氣派。由於現在年輕人可以在學校等體驗舞獅,亦會挑戰更多高難度動作,所以近年的獅頭則較從前的輕巧。

1. 「紮」:先用刀把竹篾劈成兩半,加以刨薄。將竹條扭成竹圈,紮出獅頭的骨架,並以沙紙及竹皮穩固接口位
2. 「撲」:以稀釋的漿糊把紗紙貼在竹架上,並小心地包邊,確保紗紙不起皺
3. 「寫」:以毛筆繪圖「寫」色,畫上花紋。並以水「化色」,營造漸進色效果
4. 「裝」:風乾後,「裝」上鮮豔的絨球或花邊等裝飾就大功告成

 

許嘉雄

紮作師傅許嘉雄年僅40歲,卻已有超過30年的紮作經驗,全因許師傅從小就熱愛舞獅,6歲已經醉心研究並自學紮作獅頭。

 

許師傅多年來見證了香港紮作行業的興衰,對許師傅而言,獅頭紮作是一門值得傳承下去的工藝,因此他於1994年成立「雄獅樓美術扎作」,致力印證紮作在香港文化中不只是實用,更有藝術的一面。於2018年,許師傅榮獲澳洲金龍博物館邀請,人手製作一條長120米、有多達7,000片鱗片的金龍,為全球最長的舞龍。

​追蹤我們

  • Linkedin
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Youtube
軟餐俠 logo_final_s-01.png

©2020 by Project Futurus. All rights reserved  |  Privacy Policy

Crafting Lion’s head

"Lion Dance" is a kind of traditional performing arts in East Asian regions. It can be found in Hong Kong, Taiwan, Malaysia etc. The lion heads in different places have different characteristics. Since lion, dragon and kirin are symbols of luck and fortune, with the power of blessing people and getting rid of the evil spirits, performing the lion dance becomes an important part of celebrations, such as the Lunar New Year, the Cheung Chau Da Jiu Festival and more, to add joyful spirit and for auspicious blessings. 


Traditionally, there are mainly 3 kinds of lion heads: the "Liu Guan Zhang". "Zhang Fei" lion is normally in black, "Guan Yu" lion is in red, and "Liu Bei" lion is in yellow. When dancing with these three kinds of lions, the movements should also match the characters of Zhang, Guan and Liu. For example, when dancing with "Zhang Fei" lion, the performer should dance with strength and intensity to showcase the bravery of Zhang. Nowadays, there are less constraints on the designs of the modern lion heads. For example, craftsmen can use denim or other modern fabrics, or even decorate the lion heads with sparkling materials to spice up the traditional art.


Hong Kong used to produce the best lion heads in the world, renowned for our delicate craftsmanship. Due to cultural difference, the lion heads produced in different places would differ in style, design and dance! For examples, Taiwanese lion heads are produced in moulds, instead of bamboo frames, while Malaysian lion heads are more adorable so they are more attractive to children. 

To make a Crafted Lion head

A good lion head should be sturdy and durable. For example, the bamboo raft used in the lion head should be smooth-shaved with a knife, to reduce the chance of the bamboos breaking the paper on top.

 

For the shape of the lion head, the proportion of it should be correct, so it shows a mighty look. Nowadays, as young people will get to experience lion dances at schools and try difficult movements, the lion head should be lighter than the traditional version.

1. "Zha" (Tying): Use a knife to break the bamboo into thin strips. Twist the bamboo strip into a circular shape and gradually build into the frame of the lion head. Secure the intersections of the bamboo strips with sandpaper and the skin of bambook. 
2. "Pu" (Covering): With diluted paste, stick thin paper onto the frame. Wrap the edges carefully to make sure that there are no wrinkles on the papers.
3. "Xie" (Writing/Drawing): With a Chinese writing brush, paint patterns of different colors. Apply water onto the patterns to slightly blend the colors for a gradient effect. 
4. "Zhuang" (Decorating): After the paints are dried, adorn the lion head with pom poms, ruffles or other bright-colored decorations.  The lion head is now complete! 

 

Hui Ka Hung

Though Master Hui Ka Hung is only 40 years old, he already has more than 30 years of experience in paper crafting! This is because Master Hui has a passion in lion dances that he began self-learning the art of crafting a lion head at the age of 6.

 

Throughout the years, Master Hui has seen the rise and fall of the paper crafting industry in Hong Kong and he holds onto the belief that the art of crafting lion heads is worth passing on. He established his own workshop “Hung C Lau” to prove that paper crafting has more than practical use in the Chinese culture, but also has its special artistic values. In 2018, Master Hui was invited to create a paper-craft dragon for the Golden Dragon Museum in Australia - this 120m-long dragon with over 7,000 handmade scales will soon be the longest imperial dragon in the world. 

Follow us here
  • Linkedin
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Youtube
軟餐俠 logo_final_s-01.png

©2020 by Project Futurus. All rights reserved  |  Privacy Policy